Local USVI News

Lorna Freeman, Men Who Saved Wheelchair-Bound Visitor and Ronaqua Russell Receive Keys to the Virgin Islands During Ceremony

• Bookmarks: 26

Two people who played important roles in the survival of a cruise ship passenger in 2019 were among the honorees during a Keys to the Virgin Islands ceremony hosted by the V.I. Legislature Thursday. There, the individuals were honored and commended as outstanding Virgin Islanders for their service to the community and dedication to the territory.

Resolution No. 1868 honors and commends Randolph “Junior” Donovan and Kashief “DJ General Kuntry” Hamilton for their heroism in saving the life of a cruise passenger at the West Indian Company Dock in 2019. According to the resolution, in August 2019 the two jumped into the water at the WICO dock when a wheelchair-bound passenger accidentally rolled back into the sea while her family members were taking photographs. The visitors were passengers of the cruise ship Carnival Fascination.

According to the citation, if it wasn’t for the act of bravery from the two men, the young passenger’s life may have come to an end.

Also honored through resolution No. 1844 was Lorna Lenise Freeman for her outstanding charitable performances for the community and her many contributions to the people of the Virgin Islands. She was also honored for being a true ambassadress of the territory.

Resolution No. 1881 honors and commends Ronaqua Russell for her heroic achievements and extraordinary performance that resulted in her becoming the first African American female aviator in the United States Coast Guard, receiving the Air Medal.

Members of the 34th Legislature, led by Senate Vice President Novelle E. Francis, hosted the Key to the Virgin Islands ceremony at the Earle B. Ottley Legislature. Senate President Donna Frett-Gregory was supposed to host the event but tested positive for Covid-19 and is quarantining.

Mr. Francis hailed the ceremony as a great day in the Virgin Islands. “It is important to give people their flowers while they are still here,” he said.

Senator Janelle Sarauw was extremely pleased that Ms. Freeman was being honored for her performances over the years. “I am glad to see you receive your flowers,” she said while recalling memories and personal experiences with Ms. Freeman. Other senators attending the event included Alma Francis Heyliger, Dwayne M. DeGraff and Milton E. Potter.

This post was orig­i­nally pub­lished on this site

26 recommended
bookmark icon